Diablo 2: Choose A Class, Kill Monsters, Complete Quests

Diablo 2: Choose A Class, Kill Monsters, Complete Quests

I have been playing Diablo 2 on and off for years and still find the game to be a lot of fun alone and with friends. Diablo 2 is a hack and slash grind for items and experience. There are a lot of games out there that try to mimic it but very few get close to it. When you start your game you are given an option to choose one of 7 classes. Each class has different base stats and different skills that you will earn as you level up.

Diablo 2 Characters

Diablo 2 Stat & Skill Points

Every time you level up in Diablo 2 you earn 1 skill point and 5 stat points. Your skill point can progress you into one of three trees. The skill tree shown below is for a summoning necromancer. I could put skill points into the other trees if I wanted to make a hybrid necromancer. My stat points are put mainly into vitality for life but I have points into strength to wear my gear. This page also shows your resistances which become very important in later difficulties.

Diablo 2 Skills

Diablo 2 Stats

Diablo 2 Gear

Diablo 2 Gear

Having the correct skills and stats is a good start but your gear is what really makes your character strong. There are a lot of guides on which types of items you should keep or vendor depending on your class. As a summoning necromancer I don’t need to be strong because my skeletons fight for me. I use items with +skills to give more damage, health, and resistances to my skeletons.

Diablo 2 Quests

Diablo 2 Questing

On the right you can see your quest log which has been completed on this character. In this game you can complete 6 quests in 5 different acts. You only need to complete 1 or 2 quests in each act but the rewards are pretty good in a lot of them. The first quest of the game is to kill everything in a cave called the Den of Evil. You need to kill all the monsters in the Den. As a reward you receive a skill point from the High Priestess Akara.

Diablo 2 Crafting

Another large part of Diablo 2 is the crafting system. The Horadric Cube is where all of your crafting is done and is used for a few quests. Your cube is often used to transform gems and runes into stronger gems and runes but it can also be used to open portals to end game content.

Diablo 2 Cube

If you use Wirts Leg with a Tomb of Town Portal you will open The Secret Cow Level. You must defeat the Act 5 boss Baal in order to open it. Other portals can be opened to places like The Matron’s Den, The Forgotten Sands, The Furnace of Pain, and Uber Tristram. This is end game content though and never witnessed by a casual player.

Diablo 2 Secret Cow Level

The Secret Cow Level is a cheap and fun portal to open and many players enjoy mowing down hordes of cows. Diablo 3 made another cow level called “Not The Cow Level”. This included The Cow Queen instead of The Cow King and was much easier to unlock.

DIablo 2 Cows

There is a lot I didn’t cover in this review including sets, runewords, shrines, waypoints, death penalties, pvp, and much more. If you have recently started playing I would recommend following my three starter guides to improve your game play. Spam Filter Chat Commands Windowed Mode.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.